The home of Bridge in Devon
EBU logo

Devon Club Teams of Eight

A one-day teams of eight event played annually on a Sunday in January.
The winning club qualifies to represent Devon in the Garden Cities Trophy.
At least 7 teams must enter for this to take place.

Due to Covid-19, no plans have yet been made for the 2021 event.


EBU rules for their Garden Cities competition will apply. Players must have been members for at least three months immediately prior to the closing date for entry to the county competition. Moreover, nominated players must play regularly at the club or for the club, or contribute regularly in some other way, or have met this criterion in previous years, yet be unable to currently do so through some personal circumstance (eg illness, work, childcare, etc).

How to Enter

Club secretaries can enter by entry form and cheque sent to the Tournament Administrator before 18 January. The entry fee is £12 per player if paid in advance, £15 on the day.

Any team of eight players from the same club may enter and there is no limit on the number of teams from each club

The Holders

2020 Winners: Exeter A (Richard Lingham, Ann Slee, Gillian Fawcett, Julian Bacon, Willie Hamilton, Pete Wood, Viv Mably and Graham Hoare).